Back At It…Again!

I’ve been MIA for a few weeks and I even I was starting to think, maybe I’m not coming back?  The first few weeks of school have come and gone, and I’m feeling refreshed and ready to write again.  So, what HAVE I been doing these past few weeks? I survived the overnight shifts, moved back into my house at college, caught up on seriously needed sleep, saw some friends, went out the the bars a few times, got introduced to classes and my work load, and – drum roll please – worked out!  That’s right, I’ve been working out consistently for 4 whole weeks now.  I’m super excited actually because my best friend is just as health conscious me.  We both became vegetarians  within a few months of each other, are both hooked on Pilates, and are both focused on creating a life style change rather than a temporary one.

This is how I look at it.  If I’m going to live on this planet, say until I’m at least 74 (judging by grandparent history), then I might as well do it right.  Why would I want to waste this time living in a body that I dislike because I don’t feel strong, I don’t feel vibrant, or healthy in general?  No.  I’m here to be a success story for myself, for my family, and for all the other people in this world I love.

Anyway, over the course of four weeks I’ve had my down moments, but I’ve also had my ups! My monthly cycle continues to drive me crazy with pain and mood changes, but I kept in mind that there was a reason for it and that I was still “just fine”.  Most nights I’ve hit the sheets at a reasonable hour, I’ve kept on top of readings and homework, I’ve even participated in class which is something I NEVER do because of my severe anxiety about speaking out in front of people.  I’ve only gone downtown three times which is nothing compared to last semester.

I also signed up to this awesome website that I found in an article when I was reading The New York Times on one of my overnight shifts.  It’s called Stickk and you basically make a commitment to do something, such as work out a certain number of days a week, or to quit smoking, or stop eating sweets, anything you can think of that is keeping you from living the life that you want to lead.  The website gives you the option to choose either an anti-charity (so, a charity you don’t want your money going to) or a charity you love.  Yes people, there is money at stake!  That’s what makes this such an awesome website.  I made the commitment to work out three times a week and to give my money to an anti-charity if I don’t.  My referee (you pick someone close to you who you know is going to watch your back, like a best friend or relative) makes sure I work out the amount of days I claim on my report.  My first week I worked out three days, and the last three weeks I’ve worked out 6 days, 5 days, and 5 days again this week.  I’m so excited about this!  Just by knowing there is money on the line motivates me, personally.  It gives me no excuse.  And the fact that I’m exceeding three days a week makes me so freaking happy!

Woah, long blog post!

Anyway, I’m really proud of myself.  I’m already starting to see changes in my body and I’m definitely seeing changes in my mood.  Being with people who make me smile, who force me to think in different ways, who challenge me to be a better person every day, is such a wonderful experience.  Learning on a daily basis has been greatly missed.  And limiting my alcohol consumption has led to less late nights and more guarantees of working out the next day.  I’m not in a constantly depressed state anymore and I can’t even begin to describe how incredible that is for me.

Mwahs and hugs,

The Little Fit Sis

Leave a Reply

