Circling Back

Here is an update on my morning ritual:

5 am didn’t work so well, as I should have figured from the start.

6 am was a little less difficult

7 am isn’t bad!

I’m getting up between 7 and 8:30 every morning.  It varies because I don’t always get in bed before midnight, and I need at least 8 hours of sleep.  At least 8 hours of sleep!  That’s something I’ve discovered in the last few weeks.  If it’s anything less than 8, I’m little miss cranky.  Seriously.  Cranky.  As in a complete, almost soulless, bitch.

No wonder I’ve been so miserable in college.  God, for a several semesters I was lucky to get five hours of sleep each night.  And then there was that semester of constant drinking…but we won’t revisit that :).

My friend in Hawaii was right, as usual.  Although it took a few weeks for my anxiety to start winding down, I’m getting used to the routine.  I’m doing Pilates, or some form of exercise in the morning.  I’m planning my day, and crossing most things off my list before noon.

I knew adjusting to a different sleep schedule would be difficult.  I did, I swear.  It almost seems silly that changing your sleep cycle even a little bit would be so taxing, but the anxiety that came with it was immense!  Your body takes time to adjust to changes.  You have to keep the faith, believe in yourself, and your intuition, and keep going.  I’m not getting up at 10 or 11 anymore, and it’s making a positive difference for me.

I’ve also changed my skincare routine.  I actually gave up on my skin for a while because it seems like an impossible battle.  Cystic acne is not fun, and it’s something I’ve been dealing with since starting birth control freshman year of college.  Those who know me know I’ve battled it many times with hundreds of dollars wasted on skin care products, make up, holistic books, vitamins, gym memberships, antibiotics, oh my god. Oh. My. God.  I’ve tried almost everything out there.  Several doctors have told me to quit dairy, but I’m already a vegetarian, and the vegan life seems expensive, and taxing.  I am limiting my dairy intake, but I can only do so much right now.  I can’t afford to drink smoothies,  and green juices, and eat entirely whole foods every day.  I just don’t have the money.

But, after deciding life is short, I’m on a new outer skin care regime, alongside eating as healthy as I can without going insane or blowing my budget.  It involves honey, witch hazel toner, and natural moisturizer.

It’s so simple. I just wash my face with honey every morning, sometimes leaving it on as a mask for a while.  I wash it off, put water on a cotton ball, pour on some of that witch hazel toner, let it dry, and add the moisturizer.  At night I take off any make up I have on with a wee bit of coconut oil, do the witch hazel thing, moisturizer thing, chill, and go to bed.

Voila.  Done.

We’ll see.  My luck sucks with skin, so I’m not expecting miracles.

If you have any skin tricks to share (or money tricks for fresh produce!!) let me know.  I’m always interested in learning new things!

Thanks guys! Much love.

Shannon ❤

The Little Fit Sis

 

 

Leave a Reply

