Maps

656694__old-map_p

What is it about traveling that makes it so addicting?  The freedom, the adventure, the total lack of responsibility.  The ability to chose where you want to go, to be able to eat out or gorge on granola bars, to make excuses because you’re on vacation anyway, the availability to be spontaneous.

At least, that’s what travel is for me.  I’m not good at sticking to plans.  I like to see what’s hiding on the side street.  I like to stop at the boutiques and local coffee shops, or the battlefields and naval boats.  I like to drive around until I find something of intrigue.

Habits gained from years of travel with my family.  Every year, a different destination, a completely brand new and unknown adventure waiting for us.  As a kid I went up and down the entire east coast of the United States.  I’ve seen the Plymouth rock, I’ve climbed Mt. Washington, I’ve explored Fort Sumter.  In college I interned in Dublin, Ireland, and experienced hiking the hills of Howth, the beaches of Barcelona, and the cold and wind of Liverpool.

Travel is freedom, and unearthing life’s truths.

I’m not good at being in one place for long.  I don’t know how long it’s going to be, but that total relaxation I feel on the road I want to grasp.

I’m looking for a second job so I can plan a trip across the United States.  I want to visit a friend in Seattle and make a few stops along the way.  See some parks, hike some trails, be the cliche by finding real conversation among strangers.

I share that feeling that so many others have inside of them.  It’s a yearning to go, to release yourself into that unknown foliage of maps, gas stations, cramped legs, and transit.  It’s a crying in my body that won’t stop, and it’s time to heed the call.

How many of you feel this need to go?  To see, experience, and feel?  Where in the world are you being called to?

Blog soon guys.

Shannon

Leave a Reply

